Jonglei State was the largest state in South Sudan but after ten (10) states of South Sudan divided in 28 states by President Kiir, Jonglei divided into four states namely, Jonglei, Boma, Bieh and Fangak states. New Jonglei State which comprised of three counties of Bor, Twic East and Duk. reorganized into 17 new counties in 2016. The current governor of Jonglei State is Hon.Denay Jock Chagor.

Former Jonglei was the largest state by area before reorganisation, with approximately 122,581 km2, as well as the most populous according to the controversial 2008 census conducted during present-day South Sudan’s second period of autonomy. Bor is the capital of the state.

Jonglei seceded from Sudan as part of the Republic of South Sudan on 9 July 2011. In the 21st century. In May 2016, the new Jonglei was reorganized into 17 new counties as follows:

FORMER BOR COUNTY 1. Bor South County 2. Bor Gok County 3. Bor East County 4. Makuach County 5. Bor Center County 6. Bor West County 7. Athooch County 8. Bor North County.

FORMER TWIC EAST COUNTY 1. Twic South County 2. Twic Center County 3. Twic North County 4. Kongor County.

FORMER DUK COUNTY 1. Duk Padiet County 2. Duk Payuel County 3. Duk Panyang County and Duk Pagak.

The main rivers are the White Nile, which flows in the western part of the state, and the Pibor River and its tributaries which flows in the central-east draining 10,000 km to white Nile.


The economy of Jonglei is mostly dependent upon livestock, and agro-pastoralists, combining cattle-rearing with wet season agriculture according to the rains, and fishing along White Nile river.


Bor Civil Hospital is the main hospital in Jonglei State located in Bor town. There are other primary health care centers (PHCC) and primary health care units (PHCU) which complement services offered by Bor Civil Hospital.


The main transport connections are Bor Airport at Bor, in addition to river traffic on the White Nile and three major roads that lead out of Bor to other parts of South Sudan.


The John Garang Memorial University of Science and Technology, one of the seven public universities in the country, is located in Bor.